zondag 15 maart 2009

Woops, been a week!

I should be updating this. Almost forgot. It's over midnight but I'm gonna do it now, because it's sunday and I don't want it to be monday.

Nice intro, because why shouldn't I want that? It's not that bad. Well. No, it isn't. But I guess I just grew tired of the project. It's been what, 7 weeks? A person can't keep interest in something this long, right? Well I guess that's something I have to learn, because later on in the professional business one'd expect me to do projects during months, or even years.

So, tomorrow 11AM, I have to be at school for a meeting with Corné and my team. I look forward seeing Paul, as I want to know what progress he made this weekend, and what I can expect from him with the programming.
I also look forward to present Julia with a list of items I need to have drawn up for me to implement in the game. We didn't make a proper asset-list, that's for sure.

Anyway, I don't want myself repeating, but I really feel bad about Tim having left us. I have 2 other people in the team, at the moment. A short criticism on them:
- Paul, great on document writing, organizing, and mailing updates. However sometimes, when there isn't much pressure, he just left the project aside. He doesn't mail, nothing. Also, I didn't get anything out of him on the programming department; yet that's his job in this team.
- Julia, pretty good in drawing stuff. Has had some problems with technical stuff. She also has a real job on the outside. So she didn't do much. She drew up a basic version of the game, and I didn't get more than that. Also her having problems, communicative, causes friction in the team.

- Myself, I've been a bit inactive. Been ill for a week. I didn't see the purpose of many documents, so sometimes I delivered those after the official deadlines.
Positive things are that I actually seem to care about this project. I'd say I care 90%, Paul 60% and Julia 30%. However that's a silly estimation, because of course they care; they want to have good grades.

Wish me good luck tomorrow 11AM :)

zondag 8 maart 2009

Been ill this week!

Woops, looks like I 'finally' got what I was 'waiting' for to come. I've been ill from monday to friday. Monday, however, I did come to school. But it was obvious I couldn't hold on to that the whole week.
So there you go. What an update this is.. Hm.

Just hope the guys (guy and girl) got some updates to show me, when I get back to school tomorrow :)

maandag 2 maart 2009

Week 5. What's the plan, guys?

It almost feels like we need a new revival, but I found some comfort in Corne's words about our project. If we just focus on what needs to be done, there's no real need for anyone to actually wait for someone else to complete their task. If they send in what they have in mind; work from there.

We're going to work from the asset-list, this week. I'm waiting for Julia to deliver the basic setup of her living room sketch. Then I can start beginning on the programming part in Actionscript; because we're going to do this game completely in flash.

The thing is; what can I do before I get the sketch? That's what Corne wants me to think about, so I will. I am the lead programmer of the group, but I don't qualify myself as the best programmer there is.. So there need to be other jobs I can do in the meantime, no?

That's when I came to the conclusion to perhaps start up a document with the gameplay, in complete detaill. Sort of like a design document -- hell, we can even put the result of that gameplay-document inside the design document. Wrap it all up, voila.

Will need to speak with Julia about her being away from the project lately. She's holding us up on some parts. Not to say she's doing that to bother us; maybe she's a perfectionist, while we just need BASIC results from her to continue the cycle of designing. Define, Research, Ideate, Prototype, Choose, Implement, Learn.